Details of how to apply for a licence can be accessed here

Electricity licensees
The Utility Regulator issues licences, subject to the satisfaction of certain criteria, to those who wish to engage in electricity generation or supply. We also ensure that these licences are enforced. Please note that being granted a licence does not mean that the Utility Regulator has given any endorsement to the applicant or any associated person, their financial status or their business plan or methods. The Utility Regulator does not give any guarantee or warranty that the licensee or any related person is ‘fit and proper’.

Market opening allows the potential for further competition to develop in the electricity market. The Utility Regulator played an integral part in this.

The holders of electricity licences are listed below by type of licence.

Supply Licences                      
AES Ballylumford
SSE Airtricity
Bord Gais Energy Limited
Budget Energy
Electricity Supply Board
Electric Ireland
firmus energy
Gaelectric Green Energy Limited
LCC Power Ltd
ONI Electricity
Open Electric Limited
Power NI
Project Plug Limited
Quinn Energy Supply Ltd
Vayu Limited
Viridian Energy Supply Ltd (Energia)

Generation Licences
AES Ballylumford (Ballylumford Power Ltd)
AES Kilroot Ltd (Kilroot Power Ltd)
AES Kilroot Generating Ltd
Altahullion Wind Farm
Brockaghboy Windfarm Ltd
Carn Hill Windfarm Ltd
Church Hill Energy Ltd
ContourGlobal Solutions (NI)
Coolkeeragh Power Ltd
Cregganconroe Wind Farm Limited
Crighshane Energy Ltd
Crockagarran Wind Farm Ltd
Curryfree Wind Farm Ltd
Dunbeg Windfarm Limited
Dunmore Wind Farm Limited
ERE Developments Limited
Full Circle Generation Limited
Garves Wind Limited
Gortfinbar Windfarm Ltd
Gruig Wind Farm Ltd
Hunters Hill Wind Farm Ltd
Hunter’s Hill Wind Farm Ltd Carrickatane Site
Inishative Wind Farm Limited
Lendrum’s Bridge Wind Farm Ltd
Lough Hill Wind Farm Ltd
Mantlin Ltd (Slieve Rushen Wind Farm)
Molly Wind Limited
Monnaboy Wind Farm Limited
Ora More Energy Ltd
Owenreagh Wind Farm Ltd
Seagronan Wind Farm Limited
ScottishPower Renewables (UK) Ltd
Screggagh Windfarm Ltd
Slieve Divena Wind Farm Ltd
Smulgedon Windfarm Ltd
SSE Renewables UK Limited
Tappaghan Wind Farm (NI) Ltd
Thornog Windfarm Ltd
Upper Ballyrogan Wind Farm Limited

Other types of licence
Moyle Interconnector Transmission Licence
NIE Transmission Licence
NIE Distribution Licence
SONI SEM Operator Licence
SONI Transmission System Operator Licence
Generic electricity distribution licence

Access to statutory register for electricity
The register contains information on electricity licences, licence revocations, licence modifications, directions given and determinations made under a licence.  It is available for inspection at the offices of the Utility Regulator, Queens House, 14 Queens Street, Belfast, BT1 6ED.

You should contact Liz Wilkin, 028 9031 6644 (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)) to arrange a suitable time to inspect the documentation.