We are an independent non-ministerial government department set up to ensure the effective regulation of the Electricity, Gas and Water and Sewerage industries in Northern Ireland.


The Utility Regulator is responsible for regulating Northern Ireland’s natural gas industry.

Our principal objective in carrying out our gas functions is to promote the development and maintenance of an efficient, economic and co-ordinated gas industry in Northern Ireland, and to do so consistently with our fulfilment of the objectives set out at Article 40 of the Gas Directive.

In fulfilling our functions, we must act in the manner that we consider best calculated to further this objective, and have regard to a number of matters set out more fully at Article 14 of the Energy (Northern Ireland) Order 2003.

The Gas Directorate is divided into three main areas: transmission, distribution and supply. 


Gas transmission deal with the large high pressure pipelines that convey gas to the distribution systems.  There are four transmission pipelines in Northern Ireland:

  1. SNIP (Scotland to Northern Ireland Pipeline) is 135 kilometres long and runs from Twynholm in Scotland to Ballylumford. The SNIP is owned by Premier Transmission Limited which is part of the Mutual Energy Ltd. group of companies.
  2. BGTP (Belfast Gas Transmission pipeline) is 26 kilometres long and is connected to the SNIP and to the North West Pipeline. It also supplies gas to the Belfast distribution network. The BGTP is owned by Belfast Gas Transmission Limited (BGTL) which is part of the Mutual Energy Ltd. group of companies.
  3. NWP (North West Pipeline) is 112 kilometres long and runs from Carrickfergus to Coolkeeragh Power-station. It is owned by BGE Northern Ireland (BGE NI)
  4. SNP (South North Pipeline) is 156 kilometres long and runs from Co Antrim to Gormanstown in Co. Meath, Ireland where it links into the NWP. It is owned by BGE Northern Ireland (BGE NI).

Gas transmission also deals with the regulatory framework for gas storage which is discussed further below under the projects section. 


Gas distribution deal with the medium and low pressure gas mains that convey gas to  licenced areas within Northern Ireland.  Currently there are two distribution systems

  1. Phoenix Natural Gas Limited (PNGL)
  2. Firmus Energy (fe)


Gas supply work with companies supplying customers with gas into their homes/businesses. 

Currently there are ten suppliers holding gas supply licences for supply in the Greater Belfast market and the Ten Towns market.

In the Greater Belfast market, two of these suppliers are active in supplying gas to domestic and industrial & commercial customers: SSE Airtricity Gas Supply and firmus energy, and another four of these suppliers are active in supplying gas only to industrial & commercial customers: Electric Ireland, Vayu, Go Power and Flogas. 

In the Ten Towns market, the large industrial & commercial market opened to competition from 1 October 2012 and the small industrial & commercial and domestic markets opened to competition from 1 April 2015. There are currently four active suppliers in the industrial and commerical market in the Ten Towns: firmus energy, SSE Airtricity Gas Supply, Go Power and Flogas. firmus energy is the only active supplier in the domestic market in the Ten Towns at present