Utility Regulator announces appointment of new chief executive

The Utility Regulator today announces the appointment of Jenny Pyper as its new chief executive.

Making the announcement, Dr Bill Emery, chairman of the Utility Regulator board, said:

“We are delighted to appoint Jenny Pyper as our new chief executive following an open competition.  We look forward to working with her to build on the progress we have made on developing our new corporate strategy.

“Jenny brings a wealth of experience to the role.  She has held senior positions across government.  Between 2004 and 2010 she was director of energy policy at the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment.  During that time she played a leading role in the development of the NI Executive’s Strategic Energy Framework.”

Jenny Pyper said:

“I am very pleased to be joining the Utility Regulator as it develops a new corporate strategy and I look forward to working with the board and all the Utility Regulator team.

“I also look forward to working more closely with stakeholders to address key challenges across the energy and water sectors and to build on the Utility Regulator’s professional reputation to ensure it is seen as a collaborative, best practice organisation.”

Jenny Pyper will assume her new role in the autumn.


For further information, contact Adele Boyle on 028 9031 6343 or 07794 965922.

Notes to Editors
Jenny Pyper succeeds Shane Lynch, who announced his intention to step down as chief executive on 13 May 2013. 
Jenny is a BSc Honours graduate of Queen’s University, Belfast who joined the NI Civil Service in 1985.  She was appointed to the senior civil service in 2004 as director of energy policy in the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment where she managed policy and legislative responsibilities in relation to the electricity, gas and renewable energy industries in Northern Ireland.  She moved to take up the post of director of regional planning and transportation in the Department for Regional Development.  She was promoted to deputy secretary in the Department for Social Development in July 2011, with responsibility for urban regeneration and community development.